Be Careful What You Wish For Part II

     Midday on a Tuesday, the whole family sat in a waiting room. We were to see the doctor who would tell us nothing we didn’t already know about our baby Rachel. During this time, my son got the urge. Anyone who’s ever been around a one year old long enough knows what a red faced, breathe holding, tense bodied child is doing. At this occurrence, I suggested to my wife we start picking him up or walking him to the bathroom when we see this activity. The idea being he learns where to do that. Eventually he’ll start going in there before he goes and we can really get the potty training thing going. We’ll see.

     Fast forward to 7:30 pm, this time in the bathroom. Daddy is giving Owen his bath and all is well. After scrubbing every nook and cranny, it’s time to pull the plug from the mini baby tub and watch Owen watch the water drain. It was at this exact moment that the red faced monster appeared and I knew it was already too late. He had done the deed. I yelled to Jess, “What the heck?” To which she replied, “Well you said you wanted him to start going in the bathroom.” Great. Now I’m keeping his hands out of it and trying to figure out what to do next while thinking, “We’ve got to stop feeding him so many raisins.” I get him standing up in the tub while the water is getting warm so I can rinse him off, and now he’s standing in it. Great. Finally I set him down in the big tub and rinse him off. Every time I try to check his bum, he clinches up so my view is obscured. Great. I chance it and lay him down on the towel to put on a clean diaper. I got lucky.

     After all of this, my wife explains, “He’s only ever done that when you’re bathing him.” She is of course referring to the first time I bathed him when he was less that two months old. “I don’t know why, but you must cause is somehow. You wanted him to go in the bathroom,” she said again, “Be careful what you wish for.” That did it. I knew I had to post this story after hearing that. “Be careful what you wish for Part II” sounded just right.

4 Responses to Be Careful What You Wish For Part II

  1. Mary-Lou says:

    Thanks Josh – I needed a good laugh today!

  2. Jess says:

    I lived this and I still couldn’t stop laughing at the memory of it! Didn’t he pee on you/his towel recently too?

  3. Anita says:

    I’m rolling in the floor! Oh how I would LOVE to have been a fly on the wall for this one:) I told you he is advanced….just one lesson and he’s already on track.

  4. Mark says:

    Ha! Awesome, man. Somehow, Ben has never pooped the bathtub. At 3.5 years, we’re hoping that won’t happen. It would be really bad at this point.

    How did I miss this post?

Leave a Reply

